Another Honda XR600R starting problem

Hi All,

I've been creeping around here for quite some time, but this is my first time posting. I know most of you reading this are groaning and about to type up an understandably frustrated rant about getting the bike to TDC, squeeze the decomp till just past TDC, no throttle,  half choke and a good deliberate kick. Unfortunately, this problem is not so easily solved. 

I bought a XR600 1991 a little over a year ago, from the second owner. I registered the bike and as used it as a commuter straight away. It was pretty hard to start cold, but that was immediately fixed by adjusting the float height to the correct 14.5 mm. After riding it daily for several months, I decided to rebuild the top end, as I think it's good practice to do so on a secondhand bike with unknown engine condition. At this point there was absolutely no problem with the bike running. When I opened it up, I found one badly worn rocker (left exhaust) and corresponding cam lobe. I replaced the following: camshaft, both exhaust rockers, cam chain, cam chain tensioner spring, valve seals, all gaskets, piston and rings. Evert hing else was checked and in serviceable condition.

Once the engine was rebuilt and back in the frame, I gave it a good kick and... nothing. After a good while of kicking and swearing, I decided to push start it. The bike fired to life, but died at idle. After repeating and keeping the throttle slightly open, I decided it may help (I don't know why) to take it for a bit of a break in ride. I took it to my local mountain and did about 40 km of piston ring break in riding. The bike ran superbly, but when it came to idle, it died and had to be push started again (luckily I was on a mountain with lots of declines to aid in this).  This post is getting pretty long, so I'll just tell you what I have done in an attempt to fix this still unresolved issue.

Done