Tuning a carb after rebuild and adding a pipe, etc.

Hey guys, I'm getting ready for riding season and I'm not really sure where to start with tuning my carb. I disassembled it last year and cleaned it but never got back around to tuning/riding it and it's been sitting ever since.

I'm setting it up for more of a woods bike so in the off season I got a 10oz FWW, Pro Circuit pipe and a throttle tamer. Weekend plans are to install everything and see if I can get her to run and not nuke the motor in the process. I hear 2 strokes are finicky when it comes to this. (I'm not super familiar with 2 strokes).

Is there a starting point to set your screws/needle? Any good rule of thumb to follow? 

edit: 04 RM250, stock aside from PC pipe. altitude ~460ft. Hot summers, lots of humidity.

Thanks!

Edited by FullTilt151
  • Like 1

Maybe start with telling us what bike you have,altitude and average temperatures. I'm not an expert but that stuff is pretty important.

Ha! You're right. Sorry about that, I was on my lunch break at work and in a hurry. 

04 RM250. Bone stock aside from the PC pipe

I'm in Louisville and according to Google we're at 461ft above sea level. Spring/Summers are pretty brutal with humidity. Avg temps in the summer are high 80's low 90's.

Thanks again.

When mine was a 250 I used a 45 pilot 168 main and a NECH needle. I can't remember if it was in the second or third position. And just played with the air screw if it didn't feel right. Might be a little rich for woods. I'm sure someone else will know a lot more than me about it

Thanks. I'm guessing if there's lots of smoke it's too rich, no smoke it's too lean? There should be a little smoke right? 

These bikes should idle like 4 strokes eh? I've been reading and people seem to be in 2 different camps. Some say no, you have to keep blipping the throttle the whole time and others say the bike should idle normally when you're not on the gas.