2009 TE450; should I take the plunge?

I've been looking for a KTM 450/500 EXC on craigslist here for a while (want anywhere from 2005-2014)..nothing is showing up. Today a 2009  TE450 with 1600 miles showed up on Craigslist; asking price 3700... I just want a reliable bike to do light trail riding and some commuting (including highway). Assuming it is mechanically sound does this meet those requirements? Reliability and ease of maintenance/parts availability are biggies for me.

(I'm no mechanic but can manage to do things like take a carb apart and clean it, do some basic re-wiring etc... for reference)

1 hour ago, jonwilcox said:

A good machine. Make sure it has the had FUel Injection Module and the chip .

I will have to read up on those mods. The fella who owns it says it is a nice bike but has a narrow gear range, so may top out at 70 on the interstate due to gearing. I will be doing some interstate so is that a total deal breaker or could I get around that with sprockets?

I own the two 510. Got about 1000 miles on it. Has vibration issues. But the gearing is close. I am through all 6 gears in seconds. Want 8 speed. Ha ha
Anyway good going. I tried selling mine last year. Not one call. I m in Idaho if you want to look this one over. Let me know

1 hour ago, jonwilcox said:

I own the two 510. Got about 1000 miles on it. Has vibration issues. But the gearing is close. I am through all 6 gears in seconds. Want 8 speed. Ha ha
Anyway good going. I tried selling mine last year. Not one call. I m in Idaho if you want to look this one over. Let me know

Hahaha... that's kind of what I'm steering clear of. (difficult resale)... I know my history with bikes. I turn over and sell bikes every year or two, so don't want something difficult to sell. I also like interstate riding and used to do it on my 450EXC and it had plenty of power with wide gearing even if it wasn't exactly super smooth.