Possible Blown Engine? Drz400E

I have done some research and I can not find any answers so I am asking if any of you have an idea.  This past weekend I went out to the sand dunes for Easter weekend and I threw a paddle on my Drz and went out.  I got plenty of riding in and was pushing the bike pretty hard the whole time and it was running like a champ. On the final day we were going out for the last ride we came to a pretty steep hill and as I started riding up it the bike started cutting out really hard and it sounded like the piston was having a hard time trucking along so I dropped a gear because I was loosing speed and hit the throttle harder thinking that because I was low in rpm's it was doing that.  When I did that it started cutting out worse and sounded like it was having an even harder time so I turned around and made it to the bottom.  When I reached the bottom and put in neutral it abruptly cut out so I checked my gas and I still had half a tank so I tried starting it again and it absolutely refused to start with my electric start until the battery died then would not start after 15 minutes of kick starting.  So my question is are these signs of a possible blown engine? and if so where do I start to look? I am pretty mechanically inclined and will be doing a complete engine tear down this weekend but any advice will be very helpful.

I don't know, but it seems possible considering it wouldn't kick. Either way please update! Pictures would be awesome too if you do find carnage.... 

Edited by Atolduso

I had a similar incident, sand got passed the filter and lost compression, had to split the case and clean/inspect everything cuz it got passed the rings. Hope it didn't happen to you..

I've also seen it get in the fuel tank and clog up the jets, maybe check the carb and jets before you do a tear down, good luck