Are YZ's a lot more reliable than KTMs??

I know there is durability and  then reliability. (Bic lighters vs Zippo lighters is the analogy Harley used to use in ads) When I look over a Husqvarna or new KTM, it appears to be built to a very high standard. The components looks very nice. Handsome design overall. WHen I look at a new YZ, the forks look very well made, and the rest of it appears to be decently made, but the looks of the components and spot welds looks much more hurried and lower grade. Then I look on the forums and seem to see so many more issues with KTM's needing sorting out from new.  Since the YZ is such an old and proven design I guess there are fewer problematic issues, but in your experience (I am a newb) do the Yz's have superior reliability compared to a KTM? On the flip side, do KTM's have superior durability and or rebuild ability?

Tia. 

9 minutes ago, RollieW said:

I have put many hours on both and have experienced both brands to be equally reliable and equally durable. Neither is likely to leave you stranded.

When servicing them, do they come apart and go back together as well? Are they as well laid out from a servicing point of view? I know that when I had an RD-400, most of the fasteners were weakened by taking them apart .

As for suspension and bushings, do they generally hold up about the same?

Edited by nicad

as with any bike IMO it's reliability is up to the owner and how it's ridden/maintained. That being said I find my yamaha to be much simpler to put back together than my KTM was

• Like 2

I'm hoping my YZX is as reliable as my (2005) KTM has been. My KTM certainly is a quality bike, even though the suspension was seriously lacking. The only "problem" I had with it, was breaking the shock rebound damping adjuster. After reading on the forums, I found that it was a fairly common occurrence, especially when you let them set for a long time. Other than that, it's been stone reliable.