Sign in to follow this  

KTM EXC 200 2T fuel consumption/ carb setting

Hello,

I have a KTM EXC 200, two stroke, for about two months, I'm kind of a beginner and I know that a two stroke has a big fuel consumption, but I want to make sure that everything is ok.
Thing is, my range is 67 km (40 miles) and I average a consumption of 13 litres/ 100 km (18 MPG) and that looks like a lot to me!
I am a beginner rider so I'm not riding hard enduro or hard uphills, etc. Is this normal or do I have some wrong settings on the carb?

I am especially disturbed about the range, 70 km is not such a long ride... What am I gonna do when I'll ride with my friends that have 4 stroke enduros!?

Thanks!

Nice job on picking up a 200, you will have a lot of fun!

As for your mileage, as the saying goes "your mileage may vary".  This simply means that how you ride will have a large effect on how far you will get on a tank of pre-mix.  40 miles on one tank does seem a little short, but I have no idea of what the terrain is like in your area.  But if you feel like you should be getting better mileage then answer this, are you getting a lot of "two stroke spooge" out the silencer?  If so then it's running rich and you should lean out the carb which will then give you a better running bike and better fuel mileage.

Also, how much you weigh and how you ride will also effect your mileage.  On rides that you need to get as far as possible, try running a gear high and use the low and mid range as much as possible.

4 hours ago, avas.eduard said:

Hello,

I have a KTM EXC 200, two stroke, for about two months, I'm kind of a beginner and I know that a two stroke has a big fuel consumption, but I want to make sure that everything is ok.
Thing is, my range is 67 km (40 miles) and I average a consumption of 13 litres/ 100 km (18 MPG) and that looks like a lot to me!
I am a beginner rider so I'm not riding hard enduro or hard uphills, etc. Is this normal or do I have some wrong settings on the carb?