Questions About Lacing A New Rear Wheel/Rim

I've been hearing from a lot of people that an 18" rear wheel makes a huge difference in trail/enduro type riding. So, I have the original rear wheel off my 2001 Honda CR250 just sitting in the garage gathering dust. I was wondering if I could use that hub with an 18" rim? I thought I would just cut all of the existing spokes to get the hub out as fast as possible, and then since I have a lathe at the shop I was going to chuck up & smooth the hub to get rid of the casting marks, and then maybe powder coat it to make it durable, then lace it up with new spokes, in the new rim.

Will the factory hub work with an 18" rim? Obviously the hub is presently in the 19" factory rim. I have never done this before but I'm anxious to give it a shot and see if it is worth the hype that I'm hearing from everyone.

Can you guys recommend any decent spokes and colored nipples. I'd like to have the hub powder coated to match the color of the nipples if possible. The rim will probably be just a cheap Tusk rim and will be black to match the front Takasago. If anybody has any suggestions, I'd really appreciate hearing them. Being a "virgin" I'll take any good tips, or advise, that you guys care to offer. Thanks!

1st tip:  Put a steel 24" carpenter's square up against the rotor, then measure the offset to the edge of the rim, repeat on the sprocket side.

2nd tip:  Write this info down, and keep it handy for whenever you get to re-lacing the new wheel. (If you want the wheel to be centered in the same place.)

3rd tip: Take off enough spokes by hand to know which go where, usually shorter ones are on the outer holes of the hub. (Some lacing patterns have three different length spokes.)

Last tip: Take pics of the spoke pattern before you take it all apart..

Good luck!

Thanks for those tips! I will also You Tube some videos on the process before I begin.