Coolant Leak In Head/Cylinder

Hey everyone!  I'm riding a 2005 YZ450F with an Athena big bore kit and FMF Q4 can.  

I've been riding this bike just about every weekend for the last month, still getting a feel for it and getting it dialed in.  Since I started riding it 4 weeks ago, I've noticed some coolant loss that I originally associated to bad rad cap.  I replaced it with a 1.6 bar Helix cap, and didn't lose hardly any coolant 2 weekends ago.  Sunday I was out riding Jewell MX track and was really pushing the bike hard.  At the end of the day (about 2.5 hours of seat time) there was a noticeable amount of coolant dripping from under the motor.   Upon further inspection, I discovered that there is a small metal pipe with a right angle that appears to have a bad O ring or seal.  It also appears to have a coolant hose attached to it that may run to the radiator.  Didn't seem like the water pump was leaking, as I thought it was that at first.

Has anyone had this problem before?  Is the O ring/seal only available from the dealer, or can I use a generic O ring?  Thanks!

You can use a common O-ring IF you can find the correct size, both in outside diameter and the gauge of the ring cross section.  The dealer will (should) have one, though.  The same seal is used in several locations on a number of different models. 

The pipe is the water outlet from the head to the left upper radiator tank.  Clean the pipe in and around the O-ring groove with Scotch Brite, steel wool, w.e., as well as the socket in the head that it plugs into. Slick up the O-ring with just enough grease to leave a film on it and slip it back together. 

On 4/25/2017 at 11:46 AM, grayracer513 said:

You can use a common O-ring IF you can find the correct size, both in outside diameter and the gauge of the ring cross section.  The dealer will (should) have one, though.  The same seal is used in several locations on a number of different models.