2017 CRF250L, CRF250L Rally: Press Launch/Review

Honda gave me the chance to come ride their new CRF250L and CRF250L Rally bikes recently out at JCRHonda HQ in Murrieta, CA.  If you ever get a chance to meet the legend (11X Baja winner) Johnny Campbell and ride what is arguable the best trail bike in the world on about 120 miles of dirt and paved backroads then you'd best take it!  This was truly a LOT of fun.

That's right, I said trail bike but don't let that fool you.  It is important to understand what these bikes are and what they're not.  The CRF250L is the best selling dual sport bike in the US with about a 20% share (according Honda Powersports US) but at 250cc's one is not likely to be roosting, jumping water bars or scrubbing doubles/triples on an mx track.  I liken it to their CRV SUV; definitely not a Baja 1000 contender but a capable and popular vehicle nonetheless.

I have some experience with the Yamaha XT250 and had a ton of fun on that one as well.  I'm also interested to see how this CRF250L and Rally replica versions do against the new Versys-X 300 and BMW's new Mini-GS.  Interesting article here on those.

CRF250L: $5,149

2017_HondaCRF250L-Hall-19.jpg.eae525815f3b44f414ca37905fb046be.jpg

IMG_9420.JPG.17f174be1b402845d70b9db1b1d6166b.JPG