Newbie swingarm mistake

I was attempting to take out the swingarm bearings this morning on a build I'm doing. The good news is, they came out. The bad news is, the socket scored the swingarm holes bad. How would I repair this?

IMG_3082.JPG

Edited by Pastmyprime214

That part should not touch anything. Should be no prob. 

• Like 1

I wouldn't even sand it.  That will enlarge the bore and might prevent the bearings from being properly retained. 

I would press the new bearings in and run it.

• Like 4

im failing to see any "bad" scores???

those ones are childs play!

Edited by cdf450
  • Like 1

Again I'm a newb so any pitting in the metal screams alert to me. 

Problem #2 is I think the bearing stop in one of the bores is gone. Press it in and let her rip or is this a concern? 

On 4/29/2017 at 9:25 AM, Pastmyprime214 said:

I was attempting to take out the swingarm bearings this morning on a build I'm doing. The good news is, they came out. The bad news is, the socket scored the swingarm holes bad. How would I repair this?

IMG_3082.JPG

What is the year and model of the bike?

IMO sockets normally do not have sharp edges so are you sure that was the cause or was it already like that?

I just did mine and on my CRF and if mine looked like that I MIGHT use some finer emery cloth and just do a couple of swipes then clean and blow out with compressed air before re-installing the main bearings. As tip, if you are using a vise a socket, use a big enoough socket and use the back side of the socket against the main bearings so when you push them in, the bearing will be perfectly flush with the inner lip. The tolerances are extremely tight and if you do not have the main bearings installed correctly, you will not be able to re-install the swing arm into the frame.

If you are missing parts, I WOULD NOT reassemble it and ride but that's just me. Which of these parts are missing ? (this is from my bike)

Clipboard01.jpg.d7e773b618a24d798007ca547062432e.jpg