'96-'04 XR250/400 Piggyback Resi Shock on my '05 150F?

Hey Gang!! You all GOTTA know by now that I LOVE jacking around riding and building 150F's to race in my local pit bike races.... and, you MAY have seen my 230F powered 150F build on here? I love the bike, and it works great on long and fast outdoor tracks-- but it's HEAVY for tighter tracks, and it seems to emit more vibration than a 150F. I also have a kickstart '05 150F sitting here that's my "practice"/every day thrasher/stocker. It has Hlebo modded stock suspension, and it's pretty decent. Problem is that I'm a mad scientist, and I rarely leave well enough alone.

I've been looking to build my OTHER like new '04 150F I have sitting here up with a 230 carb, ported head, cam, high comp piston, (I picked up a set of Mike Coe kickstart gears that I've been sitting on for awhile now) and I have a like new 230 front end sitting here that I was thinking about using on the project due to the thicker tubes and half inch longer travel specs. (I may just use the stock 150F forks as they seem fairly easy to set up and they work fairly well once they are properly set up IMO) I was thinking that I could use my '05 practice thrasher to get a piggyback rezzied shock tested and set up for that future '04 project. I've been looking at viable shock options, and the best and easiest adaptable shock appears to be a '96-'04 XR250 or 400 shock? Looks like the top mount will fit, the res looks like it will sit just right, and the clevice looks like a fit? I THINK the 250 shock may be only 14.75" eye to eye in comparison to the 15" measurement of the stock shock, but I've adjusted ride height on these bikes by swapping out dog bone links between the 150 and 230 parts. I THINK the 230 dog bone link would compensate for the quarter inch deficit in shock length. Anyone try one of these shocks before on a kickstart 150F? How'd it fit?   --L*64

Edited by luckystar64