Issue starting a KTM sxf 450 2015

Hi guys,

So yesterday I finally took the plunge and brought my first 4 stroke. After being shown by the dealer the start up procedure (quick press of the button until the FI pump stopped making a sound, then fire it up) I took it straight to the practice track. Absolutely loved it! The bike performed amazingly and started no problem.

I took the bike back and gave it a really good clean. Once finished I started the bike again to get the excess water off. So far so good.

Today I tried to start it, and it tried to start but didnt fire up. I did as the dealer told me, choke pulled out, quick fire of the button, wait 5 seconds then try again. The bike sounded like it was trying to start but didn't fire. I panicked and tried again several times, at which point the battery died.

I'm a real 4 stroke noob, so I'm hoping that someone can tell me what I've done wrong, or give me some tips on how to start theses 4 strokes. After deliberating switching to 4 strokes for months, and spending several thousand pounds on a bike, I hope I haven't tottally buggered it already!

I would check all connectors for water , when you say a real good clean do mean jet washing with tank off?

• Like 1

Weird my 15 ktm250sxf never has any issues after pressure washing. But I try to stay away from electrical parts and I always cover my air box holes. Also after the wash I take my air compressor and blow all the water then start the bike warm it up for 5min and ride it up and down. I would check your connections and battery.

• Like 1

No I didn't take the tank off, but Jet washed every nook and cranny I could see. Iv never had a bike with so many electrical components, so I'm worried iv damaged something. I have taken the battery out to charge it, and I'm going to check all visible connections today, along with the spark plug. I will keep you updated today

• Like 1