Sign in to follow this  

'09 200 XC-W - Stripped Oil Drain Bolt and Questions

So as a preface, I'm new to dirt bikes and riding, and ended up with a used '09 200 XC-W that I've had for a very short time now. I decided to go ahead and do an oil change, and of course found that the previous owner was kind enough to pre-strip the drain bolt on the right side with the clutch cover. The left side bolt came off with no problems, but I think he temporarily cemented the smaller bolt in place since it doesn't really thread back in correctly, because the casing is stripped, not the bolt. So, I've done some research here and think I will go ahead and use a Time-sert, despite it being pretty expensive compared to a Heli-coil. In this case I think the time-sert being a solid piece will help prevent any future leakage. I just have a couple questions regarding this process...

1. Do I need to loctite the time-sert? I was thinking red 272 but I'm not certain yet.

2. Does the stripped side actually come off without removing the engine? It looks like I just need to remove the coolant hose, clutch cover, and kickstart and then just remove one big cover piece (while keeping any gaskets intact)? If I can then I'd prefer to just have the cover off than to have drill shavings in my transmission.

3. Do I actually need to use the smaller clutch-side drain bolt when draining the oil or can I just use the larger, magnetic, flywheel-side bolt?

Thanks for any help, kind of disappointing that I ruined my Sunday ride but I didn't want to do any temporary repairs if I can just fix it for sure and be done with it. 

Glue it back in and just use the magnetic (flywheel) side, measure 700cc and dump it in when chainging the oil, don't use theoil level check bolt either.

It's common knowledge that any oil check/drains on the clutch side aren"t worth using...or fixing.