Sign in to follow this  

Any advice on transporting dirt bike?? Newbie here!

Hi all!

I'm new to riding dirt bikes. I just bought a Kawasaki 250 two stroke. I have a pretty tall lifted 3/4 ton pickup, so it's no small feat to get that thing in and out of the bed. I bought a motorcycle carrier that attaches to the receiver. I was quite displeased with it. Any ideas?? Thanks!

Get a small trailer with a low height...and a ramp.  Makes it easy when you're tired out from the ride.  I paid 400 bucks for mine.

image.jpg

Get a small trailer with a low height...and a ramp.  Makes it easy when you're tired out from the ride.  I paid 400 bucks for mine.
image.jpg.34668f2f9101897e70cbe3bf09bdd8ba.jpg

Yeah I probably will do that. This may be a dumb question, but do you need to register a trailer that small? I pull a 20' gooseneck and of course have it registered with its own plates.. Not sure about a tiny motorcycle trailer though...

8 minutes ago, Chasewatmatters said:

Yeah I probably will do that. This may be a dumb question, but do you need to register a trailer that small? I pull a 20' gooseneck and of course have it registered with its own plates.. Not sure about a tiny motorcycle trailer though...

Yes, still needs a registration.  

Why were you displeased with the bike carrier? What type is it?

I bought it at cabelas, I believe it is a masterbuilt. I tied down the bike down well but it just didn't feel very secure, the rack would sway back and forth. I kept it at around 30-40mph and babied it over potholes and bumps. I felt like the bike was going to tumble off the rack at any point.

I bought it at cabelas, I believe it is a masterbuilt. I tied down the bike down well but it just didn't feel very secure, the rack would sway back and forth. I kept it at around 30-40mph and babied it over potholes and bumps. I felt like the bike was going to tumble off the rack at any point.