Hey Guys, 

This is my first time posting in this section of forum.  I was looking for some advise/insight from KTM owners.

Background: 

I currently ride a 2006 plated CRF450x.  I mostly use this bike to ride to some local trails (I live in Columbia, SC) and to zip around town occasional.  I have it geared 13/48 and cruise at 45 mph when I'm on the road.  If I'm riding more than about 30 minutes from my house, I trailer the bike to the riding area. I ride trails moderately aggressively, as I am fairly inexperienced. I don't race or ride motocross. I've ridden on a track maybe twice.  I currently have Kenda K270 tires on the front and rear.  The bike has an FMF 4.1 full system (done by previous owner)  The only mods I have done are opened up air box, re-jet the carb, finger adjustable fuel screw, and No Toil cageless air filter (b/c it easier to get in and out and the notoil oil makes for easy cleaning)

I change the engine oil at maximum interval of 8 hours, and the transmission oil and oil filter at a maximum interval of 16 hours.  I clean the air filter every 2 or 3 rides, depending on how dirty it is (its not too dusty were I ride).  The CRF has about 175 hours on it, and it has yet to need a valve adjustment.  I checked them recently and one intake was about 0.0005" off nominal. 

I like the bike, but in doing some research, I think a KTM 450 might be a better bike for my type of riding.  I like the idea of sixth gear, so I can be geared low for the trails but still do (hopefully) 55 mph on the road for sustained periods.  I found a plated 2010 XC-W 450 on craigslist in Orlando that I'm interested in.  It has 44.2 hours and 1890 miles (mostly street) on it.  It comes with dirt wheels and tires as well as 17" supermoto wheels and  tires.