CRF 150 knocks

CRF 150 knocks when running. It is slow at idle and gets faster as engine speed increases. Where do I start when trying to diagnose this problem? Bike starts and runs fine...except for the loud knocking. 

I am not a mechanic and have never worked inside an engine. Have worked on carbs and other pieces, but not the engine. Thanks in advance! 

What is the history of the bike...........and the knock?  Is the oil up to the proper level?  Is there metal in the oil............may want to drop it into a clean pan and check?  Does the knock change when you put it in gear and let out the clutch loading the engine? 

Old School Al

It's an 04.  Belongs to a friend and we share it to ride when our kids are riding. He picked it up from someone else for cheap. History is unknown. Bike has clean oil and up to level. Runs great other than the knock. When idling in neutral and then shifting to 1 and going slow the knock remains the same and speeds up and the speed increases. Doesn't seem to affect performance but can't possible be good for it.

I'm not sure why but it played one time, I hit replay, and now won't play................my lack of computer skills?

I have no 150 experience, but from what I heard I'd check valve adjustment and cam chain slack to start with.  Would be looking for maybe say a valve tappet adjuster that hadn't been tightened properly and came loose. then fell out .................. or may a broken cam chain adjuster or bow.  The noise calls for attention for sure.  If you are going to look into this yourself, first thing you need to do is get a manual for a 150!:thumbsup:

Old School Al

PS: Not sure what I did but the video is playing again..............!

Edited by Old School Al

I tested the link and it works multiple times for me. Maybe do a refresh of the browser window.