Riding position and arm pump

When riding to keep the front end light. Say in rocks . Or climbing bluffs or decending. I am developing arm pump. I try to keep my weight over the rear tire also for traction . Or is arm pump more common than I think. I raced my 1st enduro and it was almost unbearable.

Is there something I can do for this? Other than not squeezing to tight.

Death grip on the bar is usually the cause of arm pump. Being able to hold yourself on the bike more with your core muscles can help to some extent, along with general good fitness. Fitness taken too far can attribute to arm pump too as I've seen a lot of lifters and body builder types have serious arm pump within just a few miles of starting the ride. Pay particular attention to your grip on the bar and see if maybe your squeezing more than you think you are. 

• Like 3

Weird, i never get arm pump. I've been riding for 4 years now and i never get it, I do however get hand/wrist pain all the time when riding and i think those are terrible. I remember at the beginning of the season a few months ago when i went riding, i went out for my first few laps on the track and i remember pulling off and was about to cry the hand pain was so bad. it was like a 7/10 pain. Worst hand pain i've ever gotten. though as i said when i'm riding i only get wrist/hand pain. 

I think doing exercises will help, so maybe work out? Gripping the bike with your knees is good but i often forget :D

• Like 2

Arm pump is terribly common during offroad races. I've found that breathing helps. Remember to breath, make a point of it, especially in the first 15 min of the race.

• Like 2