Girlfriend and I need our first bikes -- desert/trail riding

Hi folks,

My girlfriend and I are moving to Arizona (NW side of Phoenix) at the end of this month. I've ridden street bikes for years and never had a dirt bike, but now that I'm moving to the desert I'd like to get one for each of us.

I'm 5'10", 170 lb, and have very little (few dozen hours) dirt bike experience. I'd like a bike that's versatile and will allow me to determine what I really need out of my next bike. Because I'm new to off road, I think I need a versatile bike that lets me figure out which way I want to skew the compromise for the next bike -- e.g. higher power, less weight, better suspension, 2v4, road legality. I have honestly been looking at everything from a 150cc trail bike to big bore dual sport. I have a truck so a plate isn't required, just convenient. My gut is saying to get something small and cheap, but I'm open to suggestions. Budget would ideally stay cheap (~$2k) but I could double that if necessary. I had been leaning towards a 4 stroke because that's what I'm familiar with but again open to suggestions.

My girlfriend is about 5'3", 120 lb. She can ride a bicycle but that's it -- I've barely started teaching her to drive a manual car. So I'm looking for something very lightweight, docile, and confidence-inspiring. Current thoughts were something like an XR100 or TTR 125.

I would appreciate any and all suggestions this group has on displacement, models, etc. 

Edited by swolfe

Welcome to the heat I live North Phoenix and your going to love riding here. Any crf100,150f, ttr125 would be great for your girlfriend. But for you maybe a crf250x, an xr would be good and very reliable. But welcome to Arizona.

• Like 1