Sign in to follow this  

Starting to look for a bike

Hi there I'm new to the bike world I'm starting  to look to buy my first,  125 2 stroke  preferably a Yz. I don't have the  Knowledge what to look for, and don't have the knowledge how to fix bikes. I'm wondering if there's anybody that can help me look at a bike that, knows what's worth buying and not. I'm willing to help you as well with your service. I'm located in Scarborough Ontario. If anybody can help would be appreciated, please message me with any info thanks. 

Ask a potential seller about what maintenance he did and at what intervals.  Ask when the piston and rings were last replaced.  Ask if there are any mods to the engine -- especially if they require the use of race fuel.  Ask about how the bike was typically used and an estimate of the total hours on the bike and hours since the last engine rebuild.  Also ask how the hours were estimated and if there is a maintenance log for major items.  (I usually use the blank pages at the end of the manual for this or insert a sheet of paper with my maintenance notes near a page with torquing specs for that bike.)  Ask when the silencer was last repacked.  Ask what air filter oil was used and how often the filter was cleaned.  Beware of a badly worn cylinder or bottom end if the seller used gasoline to clean the filter or alternated between No Toil and other filter oils.  (Either of these lead to seams separating and letting dirt into the engine.)  If there is only one air filter then buy a spare and alternate them.