What rpm do you ride at on 4 stroke

I am 37. Have about 50 hours on a bike since I started riding again. Growing up the four strokes I knew of consisted of bayou 220 fourwheelers that might have hit 6 grand before they explode. On two strokes 20 years ago I would ream out till they quit pulling to learn when to shift but I thought 4 strokes worked at lower rpm. You aren't supposed to ream them out, right? When I got my first four stroke bike I was told to use the trick where you keep a toe up on the shifter and when the bike hits the sweet spot it wants to shift up for you even without a clutch to find shift points. I thought this would put me close to the right revs and had been riding accordingly. I have never heard my bike hit the rev limiter. Always backed off because it seemed like it would blow up.

So, just moved from an 06 kx250f to a 2012 kx250f that by the numbers makes the most horsepower at 12k. Apparently I'm an incredible wuss because my new tach/hour meter had a nifty max rpm feature that says I only got up to 6700 today at the track. Was working on being smooth on transitions and corner body position, but still clearing all the jumps so not like I was lugging it. Although if I ever got to 12k I bet it would be screaming and I would think it's about to blow up.

Are you telling me I'm not even sniffing the potential of this bike? That I basically could make it around my whole track in 3rd gear? I normally shift up to fourth but if I'm only halfway through the gear I should have plenty left and be able to clear everything in 3rd (max 55' table)? I'm supposed to ride this thing at higher rpm than a two stroke? This is crazy!

What rpm do you guys ride at?

I hope. I was going to crank it tomorrow and rec it to the limit to see. Threw away the package but shouldn't it be reading spark and so I don't know how it's off?

I'm an idiot. Pulse per revolution on EFI is .5. it was on one.