Suggestions welcome

Hey everyone, 

So after about 7-8 years away from riding I'm looking to get back into it. 

My riding will be mostly local woods & trails but I'd also like to try out an MX track and I'm having a hard time figuring out what would suit me best.

Info about me; I have some riding experience, mostly atv's and trikes but also some dirt bikes though nothing recently. I'm 27, about 5'11" and 230ish pounds. 

My budget is around 4-5k. So give me some help, do I go 250 4 stroke or 2 stroke, 300 2 stroke? 350? Do I go all out with a 450? I'm aware due to my weight the suspension will need to be addressed to function properly.

Thanks for any and all help!

5 minutes ago, Tclark619 said:

Hey everyone, 

So after about 7-8 years away from riding I'm looking to get back into it. 

My riding will be mostly local woods & trails but I'd also like to try out an MX track and I'm having a hard time figuring out what would suit me best.

Info about me; I have some riding experience, mostly atv's and trikes but also some dirt bikes though nothing recently. I'm 27, about 5'11" and 230ish pounds. 

My budget is around 4-5k. So give me some help, do I go 250 4 stroke or 2 stroke, 300 2 stroke? 350? Do I go all out with a 450? I'm aware due to my weight the suspension will need to be addressed to function properly.

Thanks for any and all help!

If you're going to ride mostly woods and trails, get and enduro bike, not an MX bike. Newer enduro bikes will be fine for trying out MX and getting used to tracks. If you find you really love MX, cross that bridge when you get there. An enduro bike will do fine for casual track use until you start hitting larger jumps and hitting whoops fast.