Supercross/Motocross Bike Setup Standards

I'm new to watching Supercross and Motocross this year but have absolutely enjoyed it so far.  One thing I want to know is the bike setup regulated in any way like NASCAR has to fit the stock standard template and they have restrictor plates for some races?  I was just wondering if there are officials that check the bikes for certain things before they go out on the track.

The reason I ask is because Eli Tomac's bike seems so much faster than everyone else.  I'm not a Tomac hater, I think he is a great rider.

There's a lot of stuff. Sound, it has to be a stock frame and swingarm. Can't make it more than a 250 cc or a 450 cc. And it has to be over a certain weight I think 215 or 220

And I'm sure I'm forgetting stuff

Limited to stock engine cases- maybe the stock jug too ,   stock frame and swing arm, --  after that it's pretty much game on .    Those are 100,000$ motorcycles, --  while a nicely accessorized stocker like you or I would build with kit suspension and a motor decked out by PC might cost us 25k on the outside

oh yes, the weight and cc limit

Edited by DMC707

5 hours ago, Dual Sport Daddy said:

I'm new to watching Supercross and Motocross this year but have absolutely enjoyed it so far.  One thing I want to know is the bike setup regulated in any way like NASCAR has to fit the stock standard template and they have restrictor plates for some races?  I was just wondering if there are officials that check the bikes for certain things before they go out on the track.

The reason I ask is because Eli Tomac's bike seems so much faster than everyone else.  I'm not a Tomac hater, I think he is a great rider.

There are no restrictor plates.  Every 450 is capable of producing more power than a human can use.  Ricky Carmichael said Suzuki had a 58 HP bike for him to test that was too gnarly.

Tomac's bike is faster because he's twisting the throttle farther and longer.

• Like 2

16 hours ago, Dual Sport Daddy said: