2016 leftovers shootout: KTM 250 EXC-F (XCWF), FE450, Beta 250rr

After waiting too long to pull the trigger on two separate bikes, I’m now down to 2-4 choices. Last bike was a WR450F (2005). 
The first is a brand new euro spec EXC-F KTM 250 for $8500. I like the idea that it’s a KTM (would be my first). I already have a footpeg lowering kit hanging around for KTM/Husqvarna (Fastway pegs), risers and so on. I like that it’s ready to go off the showroom floor: skidplate already on. All I would need to buy is wraparound handguards in the near future and maybe a clutch plate protector. The only thing worrying me is whether it think it has too little power… Now I’m no expert by any means but more than one friend have told me I’ll be disappointed with it coming off a 450. I know I’d have to djust my riding style by keeping the revs up a lot (which I already did in 3rd a lot on the 450). We do ride some semi-deep sand for some short 10 minute stretches at times. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to test ride on properly. I rode a friend’s 2014 250 on the pavement for 10 minutes, trying to lift the front wheel up just to see and I had a lot of trouble (maybe because I didn’t know the bike/no kicker). It definitely doesn’t have the torque of a 450 but revs really high which I do like. I just don’t know how difficult/possible it’ll be to lift the front when flying down a track in 3rd or 4th and I see a gully/tree truck or something. Part of me thinks it’ll only help increase my skills by sticking to smaller bore, but part of me does wonder if I’ll find it boring. Some people seem to love them because it makes them faster, while some say they’re too “surgical” and boring in some kind of way. One thing noteworthy is that this bike would have the best resale value of all the choices where I live. Since this would be the first new bike I buy, I would plan on keeping whatever bike I buy for several years, but worth noting regardless.