Sign in to follow this  

Question

Hey, i bought a 2003 rm250 about 6 months ago and i am thinking about putting a top end in it, when i bought it i was told that it had 10 hours on the top end, but there was no proof so i don't know,but as far as i can tell there is nothing wrong with it, it runs good, so would you rebuild the top end just to be safe? Or am i just wasting my money?i am new to 2 strokes so any advice is appreciated.thanks

Hey, i bought a 2003 rm250 about 6 months ago and i am thinking about putting a top end in it, when i bought it i was told that it had 10 hours on the top end, but there was no proof so i don't know,but as far as i can tell there is nothing wrong with it, it runs good, so would you rebuild the top end just to be safe? Or am i just wasting my money?i am new to 2 strokes so any advice is appreciated.thanks

Pull the pipe off and look at the cylinder. Easy way to tell for a quick look, doesn't tell the everything but it sure beats pulling the jug off. If it was 10 hours, the gaskets should look new and have some flex in the corners where they are exposed.
  • Like 1

Hard to say that's scarring because each picture looks different with the streaks. Might just be the way the fuel is being moved around. However if he did rebuild the top end he didn't clean. Check compression, and if all is well run it. What makes you want to pull it apart?

Hard to say that's scarring because each picture looks different with the streaks. Might just be the way the fuel is being moved around. However if he did rebuild the top end he didn't clean. Check compression, and if all is well run it. What makes you want to pull it apart?

not knowing when it was rebuilt, because if it blows up that's a whole lot more money than a piston