Drz400 fcr39 jetting issues

Hey guys. I'm having a difficult time getting my bike running right. I have the original drz, the "k" series, kickstart only. I just got this bike off Craigslist so I'm not 100% familiar with it but I will do my best to describe what's going on. It has a fcr39 carb, open air box ( not the 3x3 mod) full open yoshimura exhaust, cams from the e model, a k&n filter, a small stroker kit. My pipe was blue and bike is backfiring. Obviously running really lean. I am at 860 ft. Above sea level. I opened the carb up and saw the previous owner had a 60 pilot, 190 main, and the needle was at setting 5. I knew this was wrong, but I'm not an expert.  I need a jet kit, I'm having a very hard time finding a kit for the bike, since it makes more power than most stock bikes, With all the power adders on this thing. Can anyone please help me, I just want to ride!

No need for a jet kit. Go to jetsrus.com and order a 160 main jet, EMN needle, and a 45 pilot.

The Jet kits for the E also apply for the kicker model if you choose to go that direction.

Mods such as the 3x3 and "E" cams don't apply for your bike. Suzuki factory installed them for you. The S, SM and late model American E models we're detuned with different carburetors, ignition CDI boxes and smaller cams.

• Like 1

Thank you ohiodrz400sm, that was quick and easy, I appreciate your help! I will order the parts and let you know how she runs. But what position should I put the needle at 3?

Thank you ohiodrz400sm, that was quick and easy, I appreciate your help! I will order the parts and let you know how she runs. But what position should I put the needle at 3?

You could probably find the main and pilot at a local shop today. If you have the stock needle put it on the 5th clip. That should get you by until the EMN comes in. It should certainly be good enough to do some riding this weekend