Differences in generations of RMZ's and what to watch out for..

Hey everyone, I was wondering if someone could explain, or if this has been summed up in another post then point me to it - the differences in the generations of RMZ-250's over the years. I won't be riding much for the rest of the season, so I kinda want to take on a project.  I will be selling my Honda and hope to get about $2,500 for it.  For background, I'm a 145lb C/B rider and ride mostly desert singletrack, but we also have woods and track. I also occasionally race enduros and hare scrambles.  I'm also a mechanic by trade and handle my own repairs, revalving, etc.  I searched last night for a couple hours but couldn't find it.  Found A LOT on trans issues though, so.....

1. Should I totally avoid the early RMZ(up to 07-08?).  Haven't found much in these except lots of people saying they're junk. But the way I see it, unless I score a bike with 25 hours or less on it, I'm splitting the cases for a full assessment no matter the year or condition.  So are they still junk with a complete new bottom/top end? If they don't handle well or some other chassis/suspension related reason, forget it I'll pass.  I don't want to compromise in that area.

2. Not too sure about the '08-'12's and if they made changes somewhere in those years.  I have read about the shift drum/detent/ false neutral issues and know that 2013-later parts will cure it.  But if someone knows a ball park on parts cost new.  Then when I get into the trans I can figure out if I need everything or if the gears and shafts can be saved.  From what I read though I'll probably do all of it to be safe.