Sign in to follow this  

06 KX65 Rebuild - Wrench Rabbit Kit?

So I just picked up a complete 2006 KX65 for my son. Paid $250 for it!!! Top end had 20 hrs on it when the crank seized. So I will be doing a complete rebuild as well as sending the cylinder off to be replated. No cylinder damage, but the coating looks thin, especially around the ports. 

My main question is does anyone have experience with the Wrench Rabbit kit? It's $350 from Rocky Mountain for a complete top and bottom end. All parts, bearing, and gaskets/seals. Seems like a fair price as well as getting everything, instead of trying to piece together.

I have no experience with their kits but I would be concerned about the quality for that price.  Good parts should cost more than that.

From what I can tell it is all name brand parts, just all put into a convenient all in one package

Just looked this up. This is on RM for my bike.

Kit Includes:
-Vertex Piston Kit (standard compression piston, rings, pin and clips)
-Hot Rods Heavy Duty crank (stock stroke- includes wrist pin bearing for two strokes)
-Hot Rods main bearing/seal kit
-Hot Rods transmission bearing kit (includes transmission bearings, output shaft collar and sprocket lock washer)
-Hot Rods counter balancer bearing kit
-Hot Rods water pump bearing and seal kit
-Vertex complete gaskets kit, including seals and O-ring kit (covers top and bottom)
-Hot Cams cam chain (for 4-stroke models)

I'm sure the crank and piston parts would be fine but after having a few issues with aftermarket gaskets bearings and seals I will only use oem going forward.  Except for cometic gaskets they have been good for me

That's good stuff in that kit. Although oem cranks are best, I've been happy with the 2 Hot Rods cranks I've had. And Vertex is oem on some of manufacturers' pistons.