Sad times , 10' Cams destroyed :(

Hey all! , well i thought i was doing good! , have had the bike just over a year and after winter i took it out for the first time last month and it was sounding a bit tappy , changed the oil and it still sounded tappy, so thought it was probably about time i checked the valve clearance.

Long story short they were miles out , so went about taking the cam cap off and found this :(

34210959223_d32c6de682_c.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr

34177961884_d7a1bf6400_c.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr

now im no expert but, destroyed im assuming !

Does anyone know what years share the same cams and cam cap cover ?

Not sure on the rmz but normally the cam caps are machined to match the head. Unfortunately looks like youll need the whole shebang.

Aww man hole head job :( was hoping to avoid that! 

Ok so next question is what years the head shared with? Mine is marked 28H1 E-1 , am I looking for anything with that number ? 

I would probably be inspecting the oil pump as well.  Could have been starved..normally the head is the first place to have issues. 

• Like 1

ok so , i opened it up ! gulp! figured i couldnt make it any worse haha!

Iv attached some photos as il hold my hands up im not an engine builder , i have alot of tools and know how to use them and a keen mechanical back ground so with some pointers im sure i could mange , but i like opinions , so here comes the photos!

so heres the oil pump , had to get a photo off , everything looks to be there , some light scoring on it ? there was a few bits in the strainers but nothing massive and god knows when they were last changed.

35012808976_b35d010108_b.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr

so again heres the head

35009291326_1b135d505d_b.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr

34206038934_1a3a0f136e_b.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr

jurnoal cover

34239108863_720e63f219_b.jpgUntitled by Jack Strathdee, on Flickr