What trans oil to use

It start to shift really hard I can feel it through my boots, so I'm considering going to something else

I've never ran it but lots of people do,I run Bel-Ray gear saver it works good for me.i don't think u can go wrong by trying other stuff.

• Like 1

Yeah bel ray is just too expensive, I have used it and I loved how it ran, just need a cheap alternative

I run Rotella in both my 2 stroke and 4 stroke and it works great for me. You can also run ATF - I had a bunch of old multi-vehicle and Type F on hand that I gradually went through in the YZ gearbox. It works great and it's cheap.

1 hour ago, yz250at16 said:

Yeah bel ray is just too expensive, I have used it and I loved how it ran, just need a cheap alternative

I've been told that Honda transmission oil is repackaged Bel-Ray. The Honda oil is cheaper. I've had many years experience with 2-stroke transmissions and I believe Bel-Ray / Honda oil works best. I have used just about everything.

In all my 2 strokes, I use ATF in the gearboxes, probably since the 70's.

Type F ATF works great.  So cheap.

I have the ZS-Pro Rekluse clutch in mine which means the plates lock hard at normal RPMs. So at present I'm using the very slippery Dex 6 ATF, and it works great. Really smooth shifting and clutch action.  Still cheaper than bike specific gear oil, and Dex 6 feels awesome in both my SSS and OC forks. I just cannot get enough of the stuff.  I'd have it on my ice cream if it smelled better.

I also tried ATF as premix oil but it was a bit smokey. So I went back to 800T with a dash of castor oil. Half kiddin. Only did that in my leaf blower.

Edited by numroe
  • Like 1