Cylinder porting

I am weighing out my options for getting my cylinder ported when the time comes and wanted to get some feedback before pulling the trigger. I am a beginner class mx racer (I could probably race novice if I could fix some flaws I have and stay out of the dirt haha.) I was planning on sending my cylinder to Eric gorr for the work and I'm not sure what option to choose. I feel like I would benefit more from the mid/high porting but I think I remember seeing somewhere that that is geared more towards a and b class racers and would be hard for someone like me to manage. I should also mention that my bike is an 07 yz250 with v-force 3 reeds, fmf fatty and powercore 2.

Gorr done my porting on my 2015 YZ250. Get the MO-BETTA Porting. That is what I got. It's a little of both. Kinda in between low Bottom and Top high.

It does real well and has plenty of power from Bottom to all the way to Top. I race in the vet 40+ in MX if this helps any.

Just call Gorr and tell him you want the Mo-Betta, he will know what ya mean.

I made the mistake of making

my bike faster, and the first race

I entered was a disaster,

could barely hang on the whole 

race.

The guy that won that race was on

an old CR with dual rear shocks,

...but he could ride the thing pinned

wide open around the whole track.

Some of the pro racers around

here never touch the motor, and

spend most of the time on fitness,

suspension, and getting the bike

to corner. Have asked them what

the best way to get fast, and the

answer is usually

"Go to a race school"

i guess that makes sense,

as all the top Ama pro's seem

to have trainers these days

There are certain things that can

be done to the motor fairly easy

to change the power for

more bottom or top end, such as

thinner or thicker base gaskets, 

exhaust spacers, etc.

Torqsoft is also a good source

of info and specs on 2 stroke

motors, and mods that can be

done.

Edited by yamaha7654