KTM lowering 50mm, how much spacer on the shock

I am going to help my friend lower his 2007 ktm 250 XCFW. He wants to go about 2", I figured with would go with 50mm (1.85") so that the spring change will be easier by using some Yamaha springs and we will make the limiting spacers. (its ok, I'm a machinist and slept at a holiday inn last night and I love working on suspension). How much will be needed on the shock to match the forks? Does the leverage ratio of 3:1 apply in this instance for a linkageless bike? So.. to get the matching 50mm drop at the seat to balance the chassis we will need to make a spacer 16.7 mm roughly ( 50/ 3 = 16.67mm) to go between sealhead and piston base clamp. thankfully his spring rate is right for his weight so no new spring will be needed for the shock. Not sure if any damping changes will be needed on the high speed stack to reduce bottoming for forks and shock, but I figured we could try it first and see how it goes. If you have valving recommendations I will gladly take them. He is a 160lb trail rider, C level/ novice, and riding northwestern single and double track and so far has been really pleased with the damping rates and ride. His only complaint is the seat height, as he is inseam challenged and is getting tired of picking up his bike in the super technical sections.. makes for a lot longer day and more fatigue/ less enjoyment.

essentially mimicking this KTM lowering kit

thanks for all.

Edited by dnsducks

mesasure shock free lenght.

Put weight on bike until it lowered 50mm (it is 1,97" in my calculations)

Measure shock length again.

The difference is the spacer thickness.

The 'leverage ratio' is close to 3:1 for linkage-less KTM's. 

I will probably take the spring off go with the dropping the bike 50mm and measuring just to be sure I get it right exactly right the first time. Yes your math is right 1.968".. not sure where I was getting my math from..duh.