Ok so I have been toying around with getting a trials bike for a few years now. So drove to WV last weekend and bought a 03 GG 280txt pro . Bike is in great shape . It has some little things like fork seals ext. The problem is I have no idea on how to set it up for me. I have many years on the mx track and endour racing . Do all of the same rules apply on this style of bike ? Also any tips and pointers on parts and tips on riding would be very appreciated thanx Mark

Honestly, set the clickers in the middle for now.  I'm a year into riding trials and that's where mine still are.  There is a lot of personal preference but from what I've observed, the better you get the "bouncier" (I.e.less compression and rebound) damping you'll want.  That makes the suspension more reactive for doing things like hopping the bike or loading and unloading the suspension to get the bike into the air.

But if you are just starting out and you are riding in a club and doing competition, you'll probably be starting in the novice class.  You'll be working on the basics like not getting lost in the sections, full lock turns, hill climbs, off camber stuff, slippery conditions, logs, rocks and obstacles skid plate height or lower, etc.  Having the clickers set in the middle of their range will be fine for that.  So don't get too caught up with things like compression and rebound damping.  By the time it matters you'll know from your personal preference if you need more or less compression or rebound damping.

You'll find in trials it's a lot less about the bike and a lot more about you.  Some of the guys here also own vintage trials bike as an offshoot hobby.  When you see an expert on an old 1970s twin shock effortlessly doing things you can't dream of doing you realize the bike is generally never holding you back.