What 250 4t to get?

Ok so I currently have a 1990 xr200 I've been rocking and racing for about 7 years and I am looking for a bit of an upgrade. I have my heart set on a 4 stroke and a 250 size. Keeping in mind I'm a college student working part time at starbucks minimum wage and am looking to spend no more than $3,000 in the next few months, what would you guys recommend? I ride trail and track but rave trail (hare scrambles mostly) I was thinking a crf250r or xc250f but those are pricey I'm sure. Thanks TT.

On a tight budget without much money to spend I would stick to Yamaha 1st and Honda 2nd myself. They seem to be the most reliable. With a tight budget I would definately be looking at a 2 stroke if I was you though. If you are buying a used bike in that price range more than likely it's going to have some probablems and quite a few hours on it. A $400 dollar 2 stroke rebuild is a lot better than a $2,000 dollar 4 stroke rebuild. 

• Like 4

Dude just skip straight to burning your cash now

• Like 1

Tight budget, want to ride track and trail...  YZ250.  It's not a 4 stroke but when you have a tight set of requirement you have to compromise somewhere.  YZ250s are cheap, reliable, cheap to maintain and can be setup to run well on an MX track or in an Enduro or hare scramble.  I don't think you'll find that it a $3000 used 4-stroke.

Doc

• Like 2

Will you have more income in the future? People are covering it well here. 250fs are nice but if you're going to race and ride aggressively a lot the 250f will eat you alive in $$. Ask how I know.you might be able to afford a 450f, but 2 stroke will be your best bet.its 2 strokes for me from a preference and $$ standpoint now