Recomendations for easy trails in Taylor Park

All:

My family and I are heading to CB June 25-30 and  I am bringing my bike and me grandsons XR 50.  He's 5 and has been riding for a year or so now and actually raced his first Arena Cross in October. He's a great rider for his age with balance like a cat.  I'm taking him to Hartmans to ride to the motocross trail first, to see how he does.  If all goes well, I'd like to take him to Taylor Park to ride.  I've never ridden there but have been ice fishing there a lot.  Any recommendations on some easy, fun trails at TP?

We're celebrating my 50th birthday that week and the whole clan is going.  I graduated from WSC (WSCU now) in 1989, so I know the area well.  I try to go back every 3 or 4 years for homecoming, but I always go by myself.  Any tips would be appreciated, especially ones that tell me the trails at TP are WAY to advanced for a 5 year old.  TIA

Stuff is too advanced for a 5 year old. Higher up stuff will prolly not be melted out yet, not to mention cleared..........

Thanks 450. I was wanting to stay on the lower level of the area.  What about the CR roads?  That's what I was actually looking at on the trail maps.  I don't want to take him on a single track trail that he can't handle.  Like I said, I don't know that area for riding.  I've logged many, many hours at Hartmans on a mountain bike, but never at Taylor.

My son-in-law was wanting to fish while we were riding, so I was planning on taking a couple of short loops while he does that at Taylor Res.

I don't think there is much "trail" that an XR50 is going to have the needed grunt to get through. You could certainly take the forest service roads, North from the reservoir and Trading post but that puts you on the road with all vehicles. Not the safest plan with young ones. North on 742 to 742.8 or 742E

I'd say fourmile area, but with Cottonwood pass closed this year there's no easy route to get to BV from Crested Butte. 

• Like 1