yz250fx bar position/mounting holes help.

Hello, I have been searching forums and youtube for handle bar position tips/idea and have got a lot of info. What I'm missing is info on bar mount holes. On my fx I have 4 available options. 2 set of holes + I can 180 the mounts to change offset. So I am a beginner rider, most of the riding around where I live is steep,root,slick single track. I'm 5'11, and still haven't found a proper riding position. I seem to be always fighting the bike as if the bike is going where it wants and I'm just for the ride. I stand 90% of the time a habbit I got for riding downhill mtb. The harder I try to be in a forward position I end up being behind the bars holding on way to tight. Which leads to me being stiff and trying to muscle the bike around. 

So I want to try and figure out a proper natural bar position so I can work on my body position and not worry about the bars. I have tried so many different bar positions on the bike that I can't tell the difference. My goal is to be able to ride and be light on the bars and work along with the bike not being 1 step behind. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

common sense tell us the further forward your bars the more weight will be placed on the front end, the better traction you'll have in corners. judging by your preference to stand, as well as your height, i would put the bars at position 3, which is the forward hole with the mounts pointed rearward.  of course this is mostly all personal preference, which is why i additionally suggest you just pick a position, and not think too much about it after that;  just ride the bike and get used to it.  overthinking it will drive you crazy, focus on other things if the bike is not handling well. bar position is only one of many dimensions that contribute to bike handling.  

i prefer position 2 on ktms and yamahas and setup more for mx, but i use a very low bar bend and sit a lot.

good luck.

Edited by DRS
  • Like 2