Alternative needle for 2014 KTM 150sx ?

I  have a KTM 150sx that I purchased last year.  Always has lots of spooge and smoke. 

Plug is always black.  It's running the recommended stock setup (N1EJ w/clip in 3rd slot,  180 Main,  40 idle). ASO 2 turns

We are at about 1200 ft here and in summer it's generally hot and humid (80-90 F)

Run AMSOIL and non ethanol premium at 40:1

I am a novice rider and generally do not ride the bike hard.  However, my son, who is  very experienced has the same issue when he rides it, and he rides

it hard, so I can't attribute all of this to me being an old slow poke. :)   Bike has about  60 hours on it.

It start's great, idles and doesn't foul plugs, BUT.... the plug is solid black all the time and like I said, bike smokes like crazy when you get on it, and you can feel it is

loaded up. If you open it up and clear it out, it loads back up immediately.

I was thinking of either trying to drop the needle down a slot to 2, or try an alternative needle.

Has anyone had any experience using the Suzuki NECJ needle in the 150sx?

My son has a 250sx and he swapped out the KTM needle for the above Suzuki needle and it made the bike run so much better it was unbelievable.

Thx in advance

I tried a couple suzuki needles along with the honda 1371. Ended up with the JD blue needle.  Pony up the money and buy the JD kit ,save yourself headache. For me i felt the best was the Blue needle 3rd clip, 185-188 main and a 40 pilot. 

9 hours ago, tmorriss said:

It's running the recommended stock setup

There's you problem right there , the manual is very conservative 

i would try a Suzuki necj  needle clip 3 and lower the main maybe even NEDJ clip 2 ( I recommended this for the 250 as well )

Well,

I ordered up a couple needles (NECJ and NEDJ).

I  swapped out the stock needle (N1EJ)  for the suzuki NECJ. Didn't touch anything else (yet), and it leaned the bike WAY out.