KTM300, kind of terrifying

Hey all. 

I bought an 05 300EXC this spring after coming from a KLX250s with a 350 kit in it.  That bike was heavy but very, very easy to ride.  I rode dirt bikes as a kid from middle to high school and then left them for a long, long time. I came back to them about 5 years ago and am now 50. In the interim I rode mountain bikes a lot. So, I am not a total newbie but I am also not a racer.  My principal complaint on the KLX was the weight. I got seduced by the light weight of 2 strokes and thought I'd try one out.  The 300 KTMs seemed a good bet. 

I rode mine enough to gel with it somewhat. I got to the point where I was as fast on the EXC as the KLX but I was less tired at the end of the day due to the low weight.  I ride in New England woods, which means lots of roots and rocks. It's pretty much all technical all the time.  My problem is that I need to loft the front wheel a bit often from low speeds.  I tried this 3 weeks ago and wound up looping it out, but before I looped it I got going pretty fast.  I landed on rocks and wound up with a massive hematoma on my lower back/butt.  17 days after looping it they took a pint of blood out of my Kardashian sized ass.

Now, I am not sure what to do.  I don't know if I should stick it out with the 300 or just go back to four strokes. It's too unpredictable.   Someone suggested I take the bike to a long, flat dirt road and accelerate hard to get the measure of the engine and become more comfortable with it.  

The bike is now set up nice with a Rekluse and suspension from my local tuner who has done more than one bike for me. It's also plated in Massachusetts.  This is no easy feat with a 2 stroke. 

Suggestions?

Edited by Adam N.

carb tuning makes it a lot more predictable and power valve spring setting

• Like 1