JDJetting Kit vs Factory KTM Kit

Hi guys,

I recently got a 2015 250 XC-W, which came with the original jetting, and that I need to re-jet to accommodate  altitude here in Colorado, as most of the riding I do is between 7500-1000 ft.

I have no experience at all in jetting bikes, as I have always ridden at sea level before, so I'm trying to figure out what's the best choice I can pick from what's out there, or at least the ones I'm aware of.

Having this said, I have been trying to decide between two choices

1. Get a JDJetting Kit

2. Get the Original KTM Needle and Jets that are recommended on the owner's manual.

Without reading anything or getting any kind of insight, my first impression was, ok, if KTM is making the ones that I need, it would make more sense to get those as the actual manufacturer is making them, but based on what I have been seeing on some sites, seems like the JD ones might even be a better choice, but I was not able to define what makes them better, and if that's actually the case, so wanted to get your thoughts on it.

Thanks

• Like 1

If you want to spend the money and not worry to much go with the JD. I havent bought one but from most things I read theyre pretty accurate with the suggestions on what to run. Otherwise start playing around with settings and do a bunch of reading. This is what I would actually suggest because its what I just recently did and once you dive into it you really start to understand why your bike feels the way it does.

I was kind of intimidated by jetting at 1st since my last few bikes were FI, I went with JD and it's really close.  Quality ride time is worth more than the $75, money well spent for me.  Now I can swap out jetting in just a few minutes and when I ride other spots/ elevation, it's kind of fun.  I pretty much just change twice a year unless I am traveling.  We sold the 350 xcf FI so now I have 2 bikes to jet, might be less fun though my wife almost has it down now too.