Hesitation and stuttering at constant throttle

Hi just joined thumper talk so I'm new to this post thing and stuff. I have a 2004 crf450r that is having problems. I have cleaned out the carb to try and solve the issue but didn't fix it. Here is a video that shows exactly what it's doing. Thanks!

Thats not the carb. That's electrical. Id bet there's iron debris on the coil pick up contacts on the stator. Pull the stator, wipe the debris off the soldier points. It should run fine afterwards. But while youre in there, remove the timing chain tensioner and grab the crank and see if there's ANY play in it UP AND DOWN. In and out isnt a big deal, but up and down is. If there is, you can look at a new left side main bearing. The debris, I suspect is coming from the bearing cage on the left side of the engine.

• Like 3

1 hour ago, Shawn_Mc said:

Thats not the carb. That's electrical. Id bet there's iron debris on the coil pick up contacts on the stator. Pull the stator, wipe the debris off the soldier points. It should run fine afterwards. But while youre in there, remove the timing chain tensioner and grab the crank and see if there's ANY play in it UP AND DOWN. In and out isnt a big deal, but up and down is. If there is, you can look at a new left side main bearing. The debris, I suspect is coming from the bearing cage on the left side of the engine.

Will I need to get a new case gasket?

I was able to replace the crank bearing on my 1976 RM-125 with out splitting the case.  I don't know about doing it on a four stroke.

1 minute ago, GlennRay said:

I was able to replace the crank bearing on my 1976 RM-125 with out splitting the case.  I don't know about doing it on a four stroke.

sorry I meant for the cover

On the RM that cover gasket did not seal up internal oil, it only kept out dust and dirt.  I would think that you should be able to re-use your gasket as that stator assembly is not designed to operate in an oil bath.