Rear shock leaks - 2005 400 EXC

I recently acquired a 2005 400 EXC. The engine is great, but suspension seems off. I tried to adjust the rear shocky bush, and the low speed was 35 clicks out. I moved it back in a ways. The high speed adjuster was all the way in tight (for a reason evidently). When I backed it out, it hissed and started leaking oil, so i tightened it back up.

How big a deal is this to fix? Keep in mind I am a total newb to this stuff. I don't want to buy a new shock for like $900. Can I rebuild this, and what parts to I need?

Going to run you about $225 for new seal and rebuild , assuming the shock body isn't wore out. not something Id recommend as do it yourself.

Edited by Spud786
  • Like 1

6 hours ago, dgspencer said:

I recently acquired a 2005 400 EXC. The engine is great, but suspension seems off. I tried to adjust the rear shocky bush, and the low speed was 35 clicks out. I moved it back in a ways. The high speed adjuster was all the way in tight (for a reason evidently). When I backed it out, it hissed and started leaking oil, so i tightened it back up.

How big a deal is this to fix? Keep in mind I am a total newb to this stuff. I don't want to buy a new shock for like $900. Can I rebuild this, and what parts to I need?

I don't think the stock shock on your bike came with low and high speed adjusters. I'm not sure what you loosened but since you released the pressure you should have the shock serviced. Call around for prices. I've had shocks serviced for much less than the price in the above post.

Ok, well hopefully I didn't screw something up. Guess I should read the manual next time. It's just extremely soft and probably worn out, I thought I could do something about it. :lame:

I will get a couple quotes and get it done. I haven't checked what spring is on there yet, but it's probably not heavy enough for me anyway, so I will have someone dial the suspension in for me.