Sign in to follow this  

Am I too tall for a CR85 big wheel?

I am fairly new to dirt bikes but I am looking at purchasing one to ride around a dirt track/through the woods. Possibly something that has lots of aftermarket parts available for it...I am roughly 5' 11" (maybe a bit taller), so it also needs to be something that I will be comfortable riding.

Originally I was looking at the CR125 but they are £1,200+ second hand which is way out of my budget. Soo I started looking at the CR85 big wheel instead which I can probably pick up for around £600 or less (£600 is the most I can spend on a motorbike). I've done some research and most people say that the CR85 becomes too small when you reach about 5' 6" in height. Does this mean that it would be way too small for me to ride?

Are there any other bigger bikes that go for around £600 (I can probably push to around £650/700 if I have to) second hand, which would be more suitable for my height? It will only get ridden roughly one day every 2/3 weeks around a dirt track. Thanks 

maxresdefault.jpg

Way too small.  You're a full sized adult.  Look for full sized bikes.  Throwing 600 GBP away on a bike that isn't right for you just so you can get it now is being penny wise and pound foolish.  Save up until you can afford a 125.

Doc

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Doc_d said:

Way too small.  You're a full sized adult.  Look for full sized bikes.  Throwing 600 GBP away on a bike that isn't right for you just so you can get it now is being penny wise and pound foolish.  Save up until you can afford a 125.

Doc

I'm in no rush to get one...I was just looking around at what bikes were available for what I want it for, and I got a little confused. I saw some posts online where adults were riding the CR85 and they said it's great fun. But then other posts say that the CR85 is only for kids.