Sign in to follow this  

Buying a 2006 KTM 250 that won't start

Hello,

new to the forum, but I've been reading and learning a lot from here.  I'm still learning about dirt bikes and by no means am I an expert.

Im looking to buy a 2006 ktm 250 from craigslist.  He's asking 1000 obo.  The guy is saying it sat for 8 months and it won't start.  He replaced the spark plug etc.  he's claiming it's a carb issue.  I'm going to look at it Wednesday and I am not going to pay 1k. I'm  Going to offer less, since there's no way to tell me what's wrong.  

Anyway, when I look at it, what should I check to ensure it's not a completely messed up engine?  

Also, if it is an engine issue, how expensive is it to rebuild?  How hard is it to do yourself? 

The bike does look pretty clean from the pictures.  

IMG_1704.JPG

IMG_1705.JPG

IMG_1706.JPG

IMG_1707.JPG

From the pictures it looks like it's worth $1000.

It very well could be the carb after sitting for 8 months.  Jets and fresh gas should make a big difference.  If it's a top end rebuild you're looking at about $800 including a couple special tools you'll need.  The job is pretty easy with a service manual.  KTM makes it hard to screw up putting them back together.

• Like 1

open the airbox ! if sand or dirt there don't buy. also look at bottom of engine cases for impact damage. if it has good compression it should run and most likely that pump gas sat long enough to clog pilot jet. pull the tank off and remove spark plug to look for rust

Thanks for the reply!   So if there's sand and dirt inside the air of don't buy?  Even if I get a good deal on it?   

Basically im wanting to buy this hoping for a decently easy repair and get a good deal on a dirt bike.  (If it needs a clean carb and minor work, for 1k it's a steal).  If it needs a new top end or something, I don't mind the work. As long as I can get it for the right price.