CRF 450r rode with big hole in air filter

Hi all. 

It's my first time posting here. Had a bit of a problem were my 450 back fired into the air filter by the looks of it.

It was ridden after and only saw the damage when I went to clean it after. 

Any advice? Was going to take the carb and rubbers off to the head ect and give them a clean out, I suppose the damage is already done to the valves if it's got in. 

Thanks in advance 

received_1613340542017574.jpeg

Good shout. 

No backfire screen didn't come with the bike. It's never had a problem till now, going to have to invest in one by the looks of it. Don't want it to happen again. :-/

I have a screen for an 06 not using, what year is your bike, PM me.  But in reality just buy the twin air that's got flame resistant foam on the inside (one with black foam inside) and you should be fine

• Like 1

Nobody believes me when I tell them to leave the screen. I have seen 3 bikes catch fire with 2 sustaining pretty serious damage.

• Like 2

NoToil Super-Flo kit, comes with screenless cage, and flame resistant filter. Get a couple extra filters and you're good to go.  First purchase I make for a new bike.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, matte said:

NoToil Super-Flo kit, comes with screenless cage, and flame resistant filter. Get a couple extra filters and you're good to go.  First purchase I make for a new bike.

Why ? - it doesnt make any difference. its all in your mind thinking that youre making .000009 more HP

• Like 2

3 hours ago, S.O.A.N.Z said:

Why ? - it doesnt make any difference. its all in your mind thinking that youre making .000009 more HP

Hey Captain Strawman of the Interwebs, please show me where I said it has anything to do with horsepower! :rolleyes: