Hatfield McCoy

Just came back from my very first trip there.  Keep in mind I'm a dirt novice, so balance out my opinion with that.

I was super impressed with what I saw/rode.  The trails are great and everyone in the area I was in was super friendly and they truly appreciate having folks come to the area and ride.  It's a boost to their economy.  We stayed in Man at The Depot Lodge.  Short ride to the Trailhead of Rockhouse.  Rockhouse is true to its name, pretty rock laden, but not horrible.  The "green" trail head routes are harder than an average green, in my opinion, others have said the same, but it was fine.  By comparison, I rode Pinnacle Creek on my last day there and the greens are truly flat and easy, whereas the Blues were equal to if not even a bit easier than Rockhouse's greens.  So it's kind of relative.

Considering that you can go to private trail systems and pay $20 to $30 for just a day, $50 for an out of state pass that gives you unlimited use for the calendar year is a deal.

My only complaint and it's a super minor one is that the whole system is two-way travel.  I kind of feel that the trail heads and connectors to towns should be two way, but they should consider the interior loops becoming one-way trails.  It's kind of sketchy coming up against ATV's or better bike riders who are hauling and you have some kind of close calls.  Other than that, it's the best place I've ridden so far.  This time of year certain sections do get a bit dusty, but the ridgeline routes are fine.  I'm definitely going back before the end of the year and will be buying 2018 passes for next year if that tells you anything.  Also, I'm a six to seven and a half hour drive from the systems and I still think it's well worth the travel.

Do a search in the threads, if you haven't already and you'll get tons of good information.

Edited by scridercoach
Clarification