9000' Elevation Gain/Change. FCR or C/V

I have a well tuned FCR on my 434WR thanks to an O2 sensor and air/fuel ratio gauge. But I've noticed the FCR is pretty finicky with elevation changes. I have very little experience with the BSR36 C/V carb but I hear they are much more forgiving with the elevation changes. I'm planning the Nevada BDR this fall that has about 9000' of elevation changes and thinking about switching back to the CV for this trip. The CV carb is more compliant with elevation changes, right? Not just my imagination? I really appreciate the quick access for needle/main jet changes on the FCR but would much rather not have to change anything on the trail.

Thanks in advance

Myth. If the ratio of the air inlet to the jet doesn't change, how does the fuel ratio change? If the carb auto adjusted, we wouldn't need to re-jet when we did the 3X3 and pipe mod.

Just change you jets in your carb if you feel you need to. That's what I did going from sea level to 9k in the Rockies. My buddies didn't change the jets in their WR's , but they did need to use their hot start to start their bikes at the summit.

• Like 1

the

On 09/07/2017 at 9:46 PM, Bermudacat said:

Myth. If the ratio of the air inlet to the jet doesn't change, how does the fuel ratio change? If the carb auto adjusted, we wouldn't need to re-jet when we did the 3X3 and pipe mod.

Just change you jets in your carb if you feel you need to. That's what I did going from sea level to 9k in the Rockies. My buddies didn't change the jets in their WR's , but they did need to use their hot start to start their bikes at the summit.