Dirt bike reving supper high

Just got 1981xr200r from a guy for $100 and for some reason it just won't idle. I cleaned out the carb and the jets with gas and an air compressor fresh gas.

Starts right up no problem with choke revs super high. I took off the cable from the throttle and it some what idles ok with it but I can be sure because my hand couldn't hold the cable steady. I was thinking maybe it was the cable that made it do that because the plastic covering it was all chewed up and it was shorter then the oem is so I ordered a new cable for it I installed it and still rev super high. I should of asked before just buying part though. I also have been looking for the factory carb setting but just don't seem to find them. I know it's out there but just don't know where exactly to look.

If you have any suggestions of what the issue is if it's not the carb setting or the throttle cable then please let me know.

I'm new to dirt bikes and really wanna learn. Could of gotten a new bike but then wouldn't have fun learning

Thanks for the help in advance

I learned to wheelie on an XR200 as a kid.  It's been forever since I've seen one.  But i found the chart below in another thread.  There should be a screw for adjusting the idle on the carb as well.  You might want to try backing that way out.  To rule out the throttle cable / throttle assembly just disconnect it until you can get it to idle right.

Year/model ..... Carb model. main.. pilot .... clip ... initial mixture…..

79 XR185……... PD31A … 115 …. na ….. 4th ….  2 1/4 turns out…

80-84 XR200….. PD32A … 102 ….35 …... 3rd … 1 3/4 turns out…May be press in pilot.

81-83 XR200R .. PD28A …. 138 ... 38 …... 4th .… 2 1/2 turns out.…35P in ‘82

83-84 XL200R …PD61A … 100 …. na ….. 3rd …. 1 1/4 turns out…

86-87 TLR200 ... PD07A …... 92 .... 38 ...... 3rd …. 1 3/4 turns out…

86 XR200R ........ PD97A …. 112 .... 38 ...... 2nd … 1 1/8 turns out…

87+ XR200R ...... PD97A … 110 ….. 38 ..... 3rd …. 1 1/8 turns out….