Worth getting forks rebuilt ? Or seals and bushings

Hey guys I noticed I bit of oil coming outta one of my front forks and need help deciding weather or not its worth getting a "big" rebuild kit from Yamaha for 150$ CAD , or just do seals bushings and oil change with aftermarket cheaper parts . The big kit comes with oil seals dust seals and slides , not to sure what else to be exact . The guy at the shop said my year of bike is a good year to do the rebuild is he just selling me b.s and the most expensive stuff or will aftermarket be suffice and cheaper . I have a 2010 yz250f , thanks a bunch guys ! I'm total newb, any info , opinions and input much appreciated .

You'll want to do the bushings (aka slides) as well.  It requires zero extra work if you are already doing the seals.  And DO NOT buy them from a shop, they charge about 3x the price compared to online.  But DO go with oem. I've never had any luck with aftermarket seals/bushings.

RM has a full oem kit, and even with international shipping, you'll be better off than going through your local shop.

https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/1049/36719/Yamaha-OE-Fork-Seal-Kit?PID=3329601&ref=cj

• Like 3

In Canada, the genuine KYB fork seals & bushings kit is about 120$ CAD at dealerships.

(all OEM parts in Canada are about 2-1/2 times more expensive versus USA based online vendors)

To OP, yes it's worth spending extra on OEM suspension parts, personally I don't bother with

common aftermarket seals (Pivot Works, All Balls etc.) as they are more often hit or miss quality wise.

(not fun having to tear into a fork you 'rebuilt' a few rides ago because the cheap seal leaks)

I've learned my lesson: use genuine parts, do it once, do it right!

You'll also need a few specialized tools to service your forks,

search for the TBT Racing how-to videos on YouTube about the KYB forks.

Edited by mlatour
  • Like 1