Top End Rebuild

Hey guys, have you ever completely fallen in love with a dirt bike? Well it's a match made in heaven for myself and my 09 KX450F. I know there's better bikes out there but I seriously like this thing. I want to keep it around for a little while. So, as a maintenance thing I'm going to rebuild my top end. I've never been one to work on bikes (I've been a GM mechanic for 10 years) so I only do big stuff. Now I know that a top end rebuild should seem trivial in my situation but for some reason I've always been intimidated by the thought of working on a bike engine. So from all you pros out there, if I were to tear into this thing, what would you guys recommend I replace and/or check while I'm in there? Any input would he greatly appreciated.

Hey guys, have you ever completely fallen in love with a dirt bike? Well it's a match made in heaven for myself and my 09 KX450F. I know there's better bikes out there but I seriously like this thing. I want to keep it around for a little while. So, as a maintenance thing I'm going to rebuild my top end. I've never been one to work on bikes (I've been a GM mechanic for 10 years) so I only do big stuff. Now I know that a top end rebuild should seem trivial in my situation but for some reason I've always been intimidated by the thought of working on a bike engine. So from all you pros out there, if I were to tear into this thing, what would you guys recommend I replace and/or check while I'm in there? Any input would he greatly appreciated.