01 yz250 crank bearings

I'm a mechanic for a living but not a dirtbike mechanic, stuff goes hand and hand a little. I've done all work possible on a dirtbike over the years but never a crank. What should I look for/not do or watch out for! Is there a normal catch spot when splitting or when it opens will washers/gears fall out? Thanks

nothing will fall out

use a proper case splitter and double check all the bolts are removed from around the case

just take a little extra time to split cases 

• Like 1

Let's not mention this! I knew it 2 hrs after buying but it's cleaned up now and ready to weld. It did last though, it's been years

IMG_20170717_151300470.jpg

1 minute ago, Smoking 2's said:

Let's not mention this! I knew it 2 hrs after buying but it's cleaned up now and ready to weld. It did last though, it's been years

IMG_20170717_151300470.jpg

Damn that is ugly. Looks like you could probably pull all the JB weld off and fix it right since you are splitting case and the JB goes right across the midle cases. 

I knew one day this would happen, and here it is! My head's not down, it's more of a happy it's over kind of thing. I couldn't find my flywheel puller so things are on hold till Wednesday, then it's on! Thinking back that was a waste of alot of jb weld! Lol

IMG_20170717_160502652.jpg

• Like 1

There is a great fix for that once you crack the case. You can weld and retap it. I'm looking for the thread, and maybe some else will find it sooner.

Edited by P84ONE

Thanks fellow riders! I'm open to anything. I was a welder prior to turning to wrenches but I forget alot! Please inform me, magnesium is tougher to weld from what I remember but can't remember the protocol to it.

On 5/18/2015 at 4:26 PM, Throttle5 said:

Yeah that's a chunk of epoxy LOL, po was a real winner. :bonk:   Found a nice round piece of aluminum to repair with, off to see the welder toorrow !

1431991463415.jpg

1431991481794.jpg

1431991499710.jpg

1431991518348.jpg