DR-Z400Y (2000), Can jump start, but not kick start this bike.

WARNING/DISCLAIMER :I have not ridden a motorbike in 27 years. I am a NOOB in regards to all things motorbike related, but looking to change that. My previous post was in regards to trying to identify the carb on my bike, as I had to drain it.

So, I brought a 2000 year DR-Z400Y with the intention of learning to ride again. Not going to ride on the road, till I have a level of proficiency, which I believe I can obtain by the way I originally learnt to ride - that is off road.

The bike was delivered by the seller. He kick started the bike on the second attempt. He did make a comment at the time, that I cant recall exactly ...  but along the lines he was surprised it started so easy, he said "had warmed it up proper before delivering it". But I did not attempt to restart it till 3 1/2 months later.

So had carb stripped/cleaned by the shop. They said carb did look dirty, and "after a strip and clean they had no problems starting it." The day I got it back, I could not kick start it. I do shift work, and unfortunately didn't get to try for a week or so later. I called the shop, the mechanic who worked on it was away. So I didn't get to clarify how many times they kick started it. Or if they knew that was the real issue. They would have been focused on what was a gunked up carb - I guess.  The mechanic I spoke to did say  something like "they can be really bad to start"

I pull the choke out full. Have experimented with giving throttle pre half turn, full turn, no turn.
But usually :choke on full, don't touch throttle. Decompression lever. Try and feel for optimum kick position. TRY AGAIN AND AGAIN. FAIL. Have never kick started this bike.

I live on a hill. And decided to jump start it. Worked on first attempt. 9/10 I can jump start it. Even did it on the flat with my son pushing. So its kick starting that is the issue.